Division of Mind and Brain Research

Welcome to the Division of Mind and Brain Research at the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy, Charité Campus Mitte

Direction: Prof. Dr. Dr. Henrik Walter

Our approach is to combine the disciplines of psychiatry, neuroscience and philosophy in an interdisciplinary research of the human mind and its diseases. We investigate the neuronal sublets of how people think, act and feel with methods of cognitive neuroscience, especially with functional imaging (fundamental research). Based on these studies we explore neurocognitive mechanisms of psychiatric diseases in selected groups of patients. Our goal is to achieve a better understanding of the origins and consequences of psychiatric diseases. Herewith we aim to improve existing and develop new diagnostic procedures and therapeutic treatments in the long term (translational research). In neurophilosophy and neuroethics we examine the meaning of recent neuroscientific and psychiatric findings for philosophy of mind, for human self-perception and with regard to social impacts, opportunities and threats (interdisciplinary research).

The division was founded on January 1st 2010. After five years and the completion of a whole slew of projects and dissertations, we have done some reorganization, have gained brilliant new team members, and started a rash of new translational research projects. The clinical focus of our work lies in the research on schizophrenic and depressive disorders and in alcohol addiction. Methodologically we concentrate on Imaging Genetics and “Connectomics”. New emphases of our work are stress and resilience, decision making with neuroethical aspects of “Big Neuroscience” and philosophy of psychiatry.

To get an impression of our research please feel free to surf our homepage and have a look at our announcements and events, publications and team member profiles. And of course our ear is always open to feedback, suggestions and cooperation inquiries.

Forschungsbereich Mind and Brain

Willkommen im Forschungsbereich Mind and Brain
der Klinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie, Campus Charite Mitte

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Dr. Henrik Walter

Unser Ansatz ist es, die Disziplinen der Psychiatrie, der Neurowissenschaft und der Philosophie bei der Erforschung des menschlichen Geistes und seiner Störungen miteinander zu verbinden. Wir erforschen die neuronalen Grundlagen des Denkens, Handelns und Fühlens mit den Methoden der kognitiven Neurowissenschaften, insbesondere der funktionellen Bildgebung (Grundlagenforschung). Basierend auf diesen Studien untersuchen wir neurokognitive Mechanismen psychischer Störungen bei ausgewählten Patientengruppen mit dem Ziel, Ursachen und Folgen psychischer Störungen besser zu verstehen und damit langfristig diagnostische und therapeutische Verfahren zu verbessern und neu zu entwickeln (Translationale Forschung). In der Neurophilosophie und Neuroethik untersuchen wir die Bedeutung aktueller neurowissenschaftlicher und psychiatrischer Erkenntnisse für die Philosophie des Geistes, für das menschliche Selbstverständnis und hinsichtlich ihrer gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen, Chancen und Risiken (Interdisziplinäre Forschung).

Der Forschungsbereich besteht seit dem 01.01.2010. Nach nunmehr fünf Jahren und dem Abschluss einer ganzen Reihe von Forschungsprojekten und Dissertationen haben wir uns restrukturiert, neue hervorragende Mitarbeiter gewonnen und eine ganze Reihe neuer translationaler Forschungsprojekte gestartet. Der klinische Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Erforschung schizophrener und depressiver Störungen sowie der Alkoholabhängigkeit. Methodische Schwerpunkte sind Imaging Genetics sowie der Ansatz der „Connectomics“. Neue inhaltliche Schwerpunkte sind Stress und Resilienz, Entscheidungsfindung (Decision Making) mit neuroethischen Aspekten der „Big Neuroscience“ sowie die Philosophie der Psychiatrie.

Um einen Eindruck unserer Arbeit zu gewinnen, surfen Sie einfach ein wenig über unsere Mitteilungen, Publikationen und Mitarbeiterprofile. Für Feedback, Anregungen und Anfragen zur Mitarbeit haben wir jederzeit ein offenes Ohr.